The Art Of Pining
Thursday, 29. August 2002
Return to Routine

So...school has started (today was our first day). And...I'm back to that old routine - meet, gaze, and obssess. But first let me tell you about what happened with Mr. Bookstore Guy:

Nothing.

Anti-climatic, eh? Well, he stopped coming to work a couple of weeks ago, and I found out that he went back to college. That really surprised me, since I was under the assumption that he was my age, in my situation. But I guess he was older than he seemed. I don't know whether to be relieved or not - I still *really* want to meet him, but on the other hand nothing romantic could ever come out of it because of the age gap. Well, technically it's only two or three years, but I think at this age it makes a lot of difference. But yes. Enough about him; summer's burden has been removed from my shoulders.

Besides the job (which I'm still doing every weekend), I did nothing this summer...well, I went to the Weezer concert (I had good seating!), where I obssessed over Rivers Cuomo and the guy sitting in the row in front of me, and I re-read a couple of my old favorites (Clockwork Orange, 1984, Animal Farm, The Jungle, etc.). But besides that...nothing. The only book I had to read for Honors English was The Grapes of Wrath, but I had already done that before summer vacation started. I attempted a few bits of poetry and song (for the band), but failed miserably, as usual. Three-quarters of the band was on vacation (meaning only I stayed at home), so there were no practices or anything, and I decided not to try out for volleyball, which was more my knees' decision than mine. >_<

But here we are, off the subject yet again. It's only been one day of school, and already I have found the next victim for my haywire adoration sensors. Or whatever you want to call them. He sits in front of me in physics (no AP for me; I'm stupid in science), and I think he transferred in from a boarding school somewhere up north. He's got hair that looks like strands of chocolate, and eyes like little pools of forever. You know what forever looks like, right? It's that vague swirl of blue and grey like a cloudy day. Well, at least that's always what I thought it would look like. And that's how I'd describe his eyes - just that swirl of blue and grey. I don't think I've ever mentioned it, but I absolutely love it when the sky's overcast. There's nothing more beautiful than the sight of pale masses of Sky. Unfortunately, that awe-striking scene is usually accompanied by rain. What a waste of good weather.

But anyway (I digressed again, silly me), we actually made conversation. See, the physics teacher has these odd quirks - he's really into Friendship and Acceptance and Peace and all that other shit. (I guess it's not shit, but oh well.) So we spent the entire period "getting to know" our "fellow classmates and comrades in learning." His exact words. We agreed that it was very "hippie-ish." So yeah, so far I can't sense any awful traits coming from him, so I'll just plow blindly around and maybe I'll stumble across a four-leaf clover that'll finally give me luck in the realm of Relationships.

He is beautiful.

~AF

Online for 8012 days
Last modified: 5/22/02, 2:04 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Recent updates
Rivers and Leaves Rivers.
Leaves. Cuomo. Autumn. But it's winter! Still... Rivers and Leaves. Cuomo...
by aurycookie (12/31/02, 3:42 AM)
Freedom From Society Typewriters annoy
me. It's a mark of real modernism, especially in a...
by aurycookie (12/15/02, 6:18 AM)
The Beginning of Carpal Tunnel
I began my novel two weeks ago, and I've written...
by aurycookie (11/27/02, 8:40 AM)
The Façades What's the difference
between going deaf from 36-amp concerts or going crazy from...
by aurycookie (11/1/02, 1:44 AM)
Diplomacy and Idiocy War is
hell. I have to admit, up until now I have...
by aurycookie (10/27/02, 5:40 AM)
When Last We Saw the
Leaves Fall It feels like winter. Maybe it's an location...
by aurycookie (10/23/02, 6:48 AM)
Change Politica ...For anyone who
actually reads this, I'm sorry for not updating earlier. It's...
by aurycookie (10/6/02, 9:19 PM)
Kismet Heh. Heh heh.
I don't think I can write. I'm too excited. I never...
by aurycookie (9/22/02, 12:41 AM)
To Please the Masses Homecoming
is in two weeks. Normally, I wouldn't bother since at...
by aurycookie (9/9/02, 6:23 AM)
Return to Routine So...school has
started (today was our first day). And...I'm back to that...
by aurycookie (8/29/02, 12:02 AM)
Fridays Fridays are the lonliest
of the whole week. Fridays I get to stay home...
by aurycookie (8/17/02, 1:12 AM)
Summer Lovin'? Summer. The
resting time. A reverse kind of hibernation...A time to pine. Why...
by aurycookie (7/21/02, 4:44 AM)
Closure Arg. I *did*
write something - a masterpiece compared to my other stuff -...
by aurycookie (6/15/02, 4:45 AM)
Internet Configuration I suppose you
can all figure out that I'm enraptured by the internet...
by aurycookie (6/9/02, 9:32 AM)
Unpredictability Why is it that
whenever I think I've found "the one," the guy always...
by aurycookie (6/4/02, 1:13 AM)
OCD: The disease of
the Gods The internet is a glorious place. Ignore the frequent...
by aurycookie (5/22/02, 1:59 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher